Today I am desperate…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME, YOU CAN DO NOTHING." John 15:5

Confidence May 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erinmelby @ 7:39 pm

Today, I am desperate for confidence.  As the summer approaches, I find myself battling every day between the need to be liked and accepted and the confidence to stand my ground.  I thought that this battle ended after becoming a grown-up!

As Christians, we are called to be different.  And unfortunately, being different sometimes translates into being judged or not liked as well.  I hate this reality and it’s something that I deal with all the time.  And I’m not suggesting that I am as “different” as I should be most of the time.  And the truth of it is that often the need to be liked trumps my confidence to be different.  Is it better to surround ourselves with like minded people so that we don’t have feel the ache of being “in the world” as much?  I don’t necessarily think so, but it’s safe to say that I am more comfortable doing that.  When I became a parent, I had a set of ideals that were lofty to say the least.  It wasn’t long before I realized that that’s just what they were, ideals.  Reality was that sometimes life just happens and ideals get thrown out the window and replaced with the whatever the next best thing is.  I get that.  I live that!  But it also wasn’t long before I realized that sometimes my next best thing is a far cry from other parents normal way.  Not everyone parent’s the same and that’s okay.  It is my responsibility to believe that it’s okay and to live that out.  But it’s also my responsibility to raise my children according to God’s Word and the leading that the Holy Spirit gives to me.  To paraphrase author/speaker Angela Thomas,” I want my children to be so used to being surrounded by the Holy Spirit that when they find themselves outside the Holy Spirit, they are very uncomfortable.”  Sometimes, that means saying “no” to the popular thing.  But in the spirit of protecting them, I will say “no” and do my best to help them understand.  As a mother, it demands a lot of confidence.  Of this I am sure!

 

say something...

