Today I am desperate…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME, YOU CAN DO NOTHING." John 15:5

Discipline June 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erinmelby @ 3:56 pm

It’s gotta be something like round 750.  I’m referring to the number of times I begun a weight loss regimen and ultimately failed.  This is the story of my life as unfortunate as it sounds.  I’ve read lots of books, paid for lots of programs, tried the do-it-yourself method, even had an eating disorder and somehow, I fail with consistency and my will fails (and please, I am not suggesting that you can succeed with an eating disorder).

Isn’t that the truth about our wills though?  They always seem to fail us at some point.  I remember a great take away from one of the weight loss programs I tried;  “you can’t depend on will power, cause it will only take you through the first couple weeks”…if that!  One of the greatest, most heart felt passages of scripture that I claim regularly is Romans 7:15:

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.”

This is a great Word that applies to human nature in so many ways, but I find it so relevant to my life long struggle to lose weight and keep it off.  I recently read “Made to Crave” by Lysa Terkeurst.  This was a great book demonstrating how as humans,  God created us to be needy and to crave…HIM!  That’s the key that so often comes up missing.  There’s no question that when I am putting God ahead of everything in my life, my discipline with eating right and moving more is closer to top notch than rock bottom.

It’s discouraging that such a seemingly simple and rewarding task ends up being over run by…well, many things.  Seeking God each day brings such reward through out the day and is even a delight in the moment, so why do so many Christ followers confess that it is a struggle?  I am one of them.  It is easy to draw a precise parallel with the journey of a healthy life, at least in my experience.  Every time that I reach the point of complete disgust with myself, usually after I’ve packed on 5 or 10 pounds (though it’s been more than that too), I come to my senses and  my husband and we agree together to get our act together.  As soon as we have just one day of healthy eating under our belts and just a single work out, we look at each other and say, “Why do we ever stop doing this?”  Much like the spiritual experience, eating healthy is enjoyable in the moment and you feel better for long after.  If you ask my husband, exercise is the real chore involved in getting healthy and while it may not always be enjoyable in the moment, the after effect is truly rewarding.

God is good to reveal such relevant parallels in  my life.  Each day requires renewed discipline both in the spiritual realm and the physical realm.  Thankfully, the latter is so much more attainable when the former is present.

 

say something...

