Today I am desperate…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME, YOU CAN DO NOTHING." John 15:5

Patience June 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erinmelby @ 9:13 am

Ah, patience!  I am likely to be desperate for this particular quality more than any other.  I have learned, though, that when I am practicing patience, life’s rewards are so much sweeter.  God often lays on my heart this very important question, “What blessing will I behold if I am willing to wait?”  God has things so perfectly planned that we should not worry, and yet we do.  I can’t think of a person who does not (just some handle it better than others). God’s not mad at us for worrying, but I imagine it becomes frustrating to the Master Planner when we let our worry and anxiety rule our decisions.  In my life, that has often translated into manipulating situations so that I can speed up my self- made conclusion.  I am certain that in my effort to manipulate over the years, I have surly missed out on some of God’s blessing along the way.

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” Ecclesiastes 3:11

Thankfully God is not slow to show up or bestow blessing.  No.  In fact, I believe that for every moment I agonize in wait, there is a blessing to beheld.  He’s just that good.  He knows better than even I how difficult waiting is…for me.  He made me.  And so He also knows that without some tangible evidence of His good and perfect plan, I am likely to slide off course in search of instant gratification.

There is so much to be said on the subject of waiting.  I think perhaps I could write a book about it.  God has provided and I have made for myself more life experiences that are squarely related to waiting that I think He’s making me an expert.  On the wall of my office I placed letters to spell the words “W R I T E  A W A Y”.  Most people that see it don’t realize how significant these two words are.  The multi-dimensional meaning includes my desire and passion for writing (WRITE) and to do it freely (AWAY).  But together the phrase is representative of my hurried life and need to get places fast.  It’s also a constant reminder to slow down and to wait on His perfect timing.  After all, God has a Master Plan and I have a choice each day to either run ahead of it or be blessed by it.  Today, I choose the blessing.  Patience!

 

One Response to “Patience”

  1. Great post! Can’t wait to read what else is inside you!


say something...

