Today I am desperate…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME, YOU CAN DO NOTHING." John 15:5

To Be Chosen June 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erinmelby @ 11:14 pm

“In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will.” Ephesians 1:11

Predestination, the frozen chosen…these are the topics of great theological conversations that I have enjoyed in my college days.  Sitting around dorm rooms or friend’s apartments engaged in intriguing subjects such as this.  For the sake of this post, I have no intention of getting into the theology that surrounds the topic of predestination.  But some thoughts I had today reminded me about the security that we have in Christ; that I have been chosen and so I should not worry that someone is going to slide in and take my spot.

I suppose that it’s because of my competitive nature that I am always worried that someone is going to beat me to the place I want to be or steal my spot (or spotlight)!  I have recently been blessed by several amazing people within our church.  God has set up some very divine appointments and has allowed me to receive blessing upon blessing simply through new friendships and opportunities.  In such a large church, I have often wondered how I would ever break in and get to know people.  But it has become clear to me, as it does time after time, that it is not about what I do, but what God is able to do when I step out of His way.

I was blessed this week to be asked if I would be willing to join the core leadership team for the annual VBS event for next year.  This was a great invitation and I was happy to accept.  I felt chosen, in a way.  But for some reason, this morning on my way to VBS, I was plagued with these negative ideas that someone would somehow steal my spot.  Each opportunity that becomes available to me gives me that same thrill of feeling chosen.  I realize that the negative ideas and worry comes purely from a place of selfishness and self-centeredness.  If I were honest, I am probably quicker to pat myself on the back for being “chosen” than I am to give God his due glory.  God chose me when I made my decision to follow Him.  And God has a plan in place for my work here on earth.  There should be no worry that I will get the spot that I want.  That spot is already mine…I just have to wait on God to put me in it.  You see, I’ve already been chosen.

 

 

say something...

