Today I am desperate…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME, YOU CAN DO NOTHING." John 15:5

Time August 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erinmelby @ 10:02 am

It’s not that I don’t have plenty of time.  My world just opened wide up when my kids recently started back to school.  This year, unlike any year yet, I am at home with myself and my time!  The question is how will I use it?

Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil.  So then, do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.   Ephesians 5:15-17

When we wake each morning, we must choose how to live out the day ahead of us.  I love that just before this passage I quoted above, in verse 14 it says,  “Awake, sleeper, And arise…  And Christ will shine on you.”  Let me make a disclaimer here that indeed in verse 14, the reference is to “the dead”…those not alive in Christ.  But as a Christ follower, I look at this as it precedes verses 15-17 and I am encouraged. That just simply by waking up, I can receive the gift of Christ shining on me.  Don’t you wish that every day, getting out of bed was actually that joyful?  It can be!

Further, what will I do with the time that God has granted me for this day?  Over the summer, I observed my kids and thought to myself, “Idle time…”  Is that not what summer time is about for kids?  But consider the effects of idle time.  I found myself saying to them, ” The TV is going off, put your DS away…this idle time is turning your brain to mush!”  I’m becoming my mother after all!!!  As I get older and value my time more, I become more and more aware of how destructive idle time can be.  In 1 Timothy, the widow is warned about idle time, but I think it is applicable to us all… especially women;

“At the same time they also learn to be idle, as they go around from house to house ; and not merely idle, but also gossips and busybodies, talking about things not proper to mention.” (1 Tiimothy 5:13)

Today, I am challenged to organize my time so that I am the most effective that I can be.  For me that means making lists, having a plan and being purposeful!  What does it mean for you?  I challenge you to consider what happens when your time is idle and not well thought out.  And then consider how much more effective you can be with your time when it is first committed to God for his glory and purpose.  There’s nothing idle about that!

 

One Response to “Time”

  1. Shea Says:

    You seem to say what I need to hear just when I need to hear it. 🙂


say something...

