Today I am desperate…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME, YOU CAN DO NOTHING." John 15:5

Results September 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erinmelby @ 10:31 am

“Results Not Typical”…that’s the disclaimer that nearly every weight loss program advertises.  It’s the fine print that really matters.  When I see all the before and after pictures during a Slim Fast or Weight Watchers add or the cut physique of a once fat person advertising P90X or any other home “gym”, I’m inclined to find their website and sign up.  That is until I read the fine print.  If the results are not typical, then I don’t want to try it.

 

Most of us see ourselves as fairly typical people, so when an advertisement suggests that you have to be atypical to get results, it’s a bit of a turn off.  Wouldn’t you agree?  Well, I was challenged today while I was struggling to run up another hill at our local park, to be “not typical”!  I want results!

 

A terrific opportunity turned up in my little town this week.  A “typical” woman had a vision to make her community more fit.  And by typical, I mean anything but.  She put out an offer to come and experience her exercise class (bootcamp)  for free this entire week.  She’s the only person I’ve ever met that could conduct 12 classes in 4 days.  NOT TYPICAL!  I made it my goal to show up for one class everyday this week.  Today, I finished it off with a little run on my own.  Today, I feel more than typical.  And as I reached the top of my last hill today, I actually believed that I could achieve results that fit the fine print.

 

There’s a deep spiritual element here.  The passage that comes to mind when I consider this is Romans 8:37

“No, in all these things, we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” 

 

Isn’t this a great passage?  At it’s basic face value, it’s awesome to think that I am a conqueror.  Because, let’s face it, every day we are faced with things that make us question that fact.  But the deeper value of this is even greater.  In context, it is suggesting that we are strengthened by the Spirit that lives in us.

 

All the way up in vs. 22, there is talk of hope, redemption, weakness.  Oh, sweet weakness!  Not a day goes by that I do not feel weak.  I know I’m not alone.  The good news is that there’s strength in that.  And the even better news is that God works for our good, He is for us and he has indeed made us more than conquerors.

 

This is NOT typical, friends.  Every time I read Romans 8, probably my favorite chapter in the Bible, I’m reminded and inspired.  Today, I’m thankful that it reminds me that I fit the fine print.  I can achieve results that are not typical, both physically and spiritually.  We serve a God who made me anything but typical.  Of this I am sure!

 

say something...

