Today I am desperate…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME, YOU CAN DO NOTHING." John 15:5

Writing September 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erinmelby @ 9:29 am

I feel like I’m cheating on my blog!  Life has just whisked me away and left me unavailable for the one thing I truly love, MY WRITING!  As the school year approached, I became very ambitious.  I began saying “yes” more than I think I’ve ever said it before in my life.  When I became a wife, I was convicted to keep my time for my husband sacred and available.  When I became a mom, I was determined to keep their routines a priority.  I learned the art of saying “no”, while not offending and still participating in life.  Now, for the first time in 10 years, I said “yes” a few too many times.  And I feel like I’m missing out on life, even though I’m so involved in it.

I’ve made commitments that I will keep and I will joyfully and whole heartedly complete the tasks that I have begun.  But please forgive me if you start hearing me say, “no” more often.

And please understand that until then, my written words have become fewer and farther between.  But know full well that I have not abandoned my passion.  I will be back and better for it when I am.

 

One Response to “Writing”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    In as short a time as 10 years, you will look back on this “saying Yes” time with no regret. As you sit around and listen to your kids recall with laughter and gratitude all of the fun times they had, the things you did with them and for them, you will “see” through new eyes how meaningful this time was for them. You and Eric have the wonderful ability to continuously bring the chaos down and regroup. You won”t be able to see it for awhile but you will eventually be very glad that you said, “yes”.


say something...

